Cookies on the CII website

By using and browsing the CII website, you consent to cookies being used in accordance with our policy. If you do not consent, you are always free to disable cookies if your browser permits, although doing so may interfere with your use of some of our sites or services. Find out more »

Chartered Insurance Institute
Recently added to my basket
Sorry but there was an error adding this to your basket. Please try adding it again

Why Chartered status makes a difference

Competence. Knowledge. Ethical behaviour.

Do these terms sum up what you look for in your dealings with insurance and financial planning professionals?

Well, they are precisely the qualities embodied by 'Chartered' status.

The Chartered logo signifies that an individual or an organisation has committed to:

  • the highest levels of technical and professional knowledge and competence through professional qualifications
  • keeping knowledge and skills up-to-date through continuing professional development
  • ethical conduct through adhering to an industry Code of Ethics enforced through disciplinary sanctions.  

Chartered individuals and organisations are rightly proud of their achievement, usually including mention of it in their promotional materials and business communications, mostly commonly through the use of a logo or a descriptor. 

Chartered firm search 

Our online directory allows you to search for firms near you:

Chartered Insurers »

Chartered Insurance Brokers »

Chartered Financial Planners »

Individual Chartered titles

We have five Chartered titles to cover the different specialisations for those working in the insurance and financial advice professions: Chartered Insurance Broker, Chartered Insurer, Chartered Insurance Practitioner, Chartered Insurance Risk Manager and Chartered Financial Planner.

Chartered Insurance Broker   Chartered Insurer   Chartered Insurance Practitioner   Chartered Insurance Risk Manager   Chartered Financial Planner

 Chartered individuals will hold one of these CII professional level qualifications:

  • Advanced Diploma in Insurance (ACII)
  • Advanced Diploma in Financial Planning (APFS)
  • Fellowship of CII (FCII) or PFS (FPFS)

They'll also have at least five years' relevant experience and satisfy ongoing requirements to keep their knowledge up to date. They are also required to comply with an ethical code that puts their clients' interests first.

Corporate Chartered titles

We have three Chartered titles to cover different specialisations for organisations in the insurance and financial advice profession: Chartered Insurance Brokers, Chartered Insurers and Chartered Financial Planners.

Corporate Chartered Insurance Brokers   Corporate Chartered Insururers   Chartered Financial Planners

This is awarded on the basis of an organisation's commitment to meet significant and ongoing obligations designed to ensure that its employees are competent, knowledgeable and ethical in their dealings.

These revolve around:

  • The holding of professional qualifications
  • A commitment to the professional development of all employees
  • Employee membership of the CII and, with this, compliance with its ethical code of conduct

Not a member?

Members receive exclusive discounts on CII tuition, courses and exam entry.